top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureanjaligordon

my Tico family-tree

Updated: Feb 11, 2019

The past week-- filled with eyelash lifts, unexpected grandchildren, and a trip to the hospital, has helped me understand the true meaning of the Tico family-- MY Tico family. Our Tia's daughter, Alejandra, came over to give Savannah and I eyelash lifts and to take us shopping. She's in her mid-twenties, has her own business, dates a professional skateboarder, has legs full of tattoos, and models for the shoe company-- vans. Let's just say, she's everything I aspire to be in life. Speaking of the older siblings I've been given, I haven't even told you all about Daniel yet. He's our exchange brother originally from Maryland, but has been here in San Jose since September. When I say I've been gifted the best older brother I could ask for, I mean it. He comes from a hippie household-- deadheads and raised Jewish... sound familiar?


playa montezuma at sunrise

I woke up to the sound of children laughing (and my stomach in immense pain). Grandchildren-- Emma and Jose had been dropped off for the weekend to spend time with Tia. I honestly don't really know where to start with this story so I'm just going to get right into it...

Tia dropped everything to accompany me to the hospital. She called up Alejandra ("It's a family emergency") to watch the children in her place. Savannah sacrificed her peaceful morning to act as my translator and Daniel gave up his free afternoon to babysit the grand-kids. It's super hard to be sick in a country that's foreign to you, but having a family that has your back truly helps.


Savannah sat with me in the hospital room for hours, calming my anxiety around hospitals and distracting me with her wise humor. When finally it was time to go, Tia sprouted up behind me lovingly repeating "Anji, Anji, Anji" her words swayed in the air just like the way she walks, as she pet my hair down. I remember being overwhelmed with happiness to see her... as if the taxi in front of us was my golden chariot and she was my ticket out.


When I arrived home, Daniel was painting with the kids. He offered me a brush and the sibling banter continued on like usual. I'm incredibly thankful for all of these people. Words cannot express how appreciative I am of the family bond we have, despite only a month ago being complete strangers to one another.

an example of the sarcastic sibling humor

with much love + a warm heart,

anjali


(p.s. for those of you possibly worrying right now... all is well, I'm healthy, I just really wanted to highlight the importance of family here around this example).


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page